Multyfarnham Franciscan Friary was originally founded in 1268 and is dedicated to Mary, Mother of God, and to St. Francis of Assisi. The 700 year old Franciscan Friary includes extensive grounds.The grounds of the
friary are regularly sought out by people in search of solitude and an opportunity to pray. A prominent feature of the Friary Garden is the unique interpretation of the "Stations of the Cross". Fourteen life-size statues were commissioned by a previous Guardian of the Abbey,
Fr. Camillus Courtney and designed by Neff Brothers of Cork City. These statues are nearly 100 years old, and were reputedly modeled on people living in the village at the time.
Find out what other visitors had to say about Multyfarnham Friary.
Gardens were beautifully kept. The church was old with lots of modern stained glass and other touches. Built of a dark stone and clearly a much loved and working church.
The gorgeous gardens are also just idyllic with the life size whitewashed stations of the cross set among the trees, lawns and bubbling stream. It has a meditation garden too with some lovely art and sculpture.
Wheelchair accessible. A great place for a few moments quiet contemplation, and for some emotive photography.
Multyfarnham Friary is 71 minutes from Dublin, 16 minutes from Mullingar and 18 minutes from Castlepollard.Carpark Coordinates Latitude53.628338Longitude-7.392121